Sewer Authority

In compliance with the requirements of the Municipal Authorities Act of 1945, approved May 2, 1945 and pursuant to ordinances adopted by the Municipal Authorities of the Borough of Portage and Portage Township, the joint municipal authority established the “Portage Area Sewer Authority”. The Sewer Authority was established by Portage Borough and Portage Township on March 2, 1970 per ordinance 284 of 1970. The Sewer Authority has an existence of fifty years with a resolution (2-2001) 6/4/2001, extending an additional term of existence from March 2020 to March 2070.

The purpose of the Sewer Authority is for constructing and erecting a sewer system and sewage disposal plant and to undertake any and all functions performed by a sewer company.

The Sewer Authority consists of a six member board with three members from Portage Borough and three members from Portage Township. Each member serves a five year term.

Board Members

  • Don Squillario-Chairman
  • Joseph Beyer-Vice Chairman
  • Nancy Sherbine-Secretary
  • Eric Gentile-Treasurer
  • Donald Moore-Board Member
  • Dino Scarton-Board Member

Office Staff

  • Lisa Spaid-Administrative Assistant
  • Mark Stancovich-Superintendent

The Portage Area Sewer Authority Board meetings are held the third (3rd) Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the boardroom located at 606 Caldwell Avenue, Portage.